closeThis post was published 5 years 4 months 15 days ago which may make its content inapplicable to the current Islanders roster and/or team news. This site is not responsible for any misunderstanding.

Every now and then I get interesting emails that are just little gems of information and way too good not to post about, today was one of those days I guess.

Kyle Okposo - Team USAPrior to today I had never known that you can watch the World Championships online or anywhere on television. Had I know this, I would certainly have watched Mark Streit and Kyle Okposo every step of the way through the tournament and blogged about the progress. Thanks to a heads up from the nice folks over at Universal Sports, viewing the worlds is now possible.

According to the information I received today; Universal Sports (www.universalsports.com), a channel and website partnered with NBC that highlights Olympic Sports all year long (formerly WCSN), will be broadcasting the 2009 IIHF Men’s World Championships at universalsports.com as well as on TV. The US is now in the semi-finals and will play Russia tomorrow at 10:00AM ET. Don’t miss out on this awesome opportunity to catch Kyle Okposo skate in the remaining rounds of the tournament!

They were also nice enough to provide me with the remaining schedule for those who may need it:

INTERNET (www.universalsports.com/icehockey)
May 7th
Quarter Final #3 (10:15 AM-1:15PM ET/ 7:15-10:15AM ET) – LIVE
Quarter Final #4 (2:00-5:00 PM ET/ 11:00AM- 2:00PM PT) – LIVE
May 8th
Semifinal #1 (10:15 AM-1:15 PM ET/ 7:15- 10:15AM ET) – LIVE
Semifinal #2 (2:15 – 5:15PM ET/ 11:15AM- 2:15PM PT) – LIVE
May 10th
Bronze Medal (10:00AM-1:00 PM ET/ 7:00-10:00AM PT) – LIVE
Gold Medal (2:30-5:30 PM ET/ 11:30AM- 2:30PM PT) – LIVE

TELEVISION
May 7th
Quarter Final #4 (2:00-5:00 PM ET) – LIVE
Quarter Final #3 (6:00-8:30 PM ET) – Same Day Delay
May 8th
Semifinal #1 (6:00-8:30 PM ET) – Same Day Delay
Semifinal #2 (9:00-11:30 PM ET) – Same Day Delay
May 10th
Bronze Medal Match (10:00 AM-1:00 PM ET) – LIVE
Gold Medal Match (2:30-5:30 PM ET) – LIVE

Updated 4:55pm

I had fired back an email with some questions that I couldn’t readily find answers to (I saw no mention of the specific channels where you can watch the games or even if there was an archive of past games in case you missed one (or them all)). If I couldn’t find it easily, that meant everyone else would have similar problems.

Here are the answers:

In the New York City area, you can watch the televised feeds on these channels:

Time Warner Cable channel 162
Comcast Cable channel 249
Cablevision channel 110
RCN channel 190
Verizon Fios channel 464
NBC over-the-air channel 4.4

If you are out of the New York market, you can go over to the Universal Sports website and enter your zip code (towards the middle of the page) to bring up your local stations.

Just an extra note for those interested, the Universal Sports broadcast team consists of the Los Angeles Kings’ play-by-play announcer Nick Nickson joined by former Kings forward Daryl Evans.

They also have archives so you can watch the past games, Universal Sports provided me with a direct link to this page; Universal Sports Archive Page